babil

babil

The Scarecrow Cycle

A body rises above its own chaos seemingly thrust by a complicated melancholy. A gaping identity, a pierced thought, a language full of holes, practiced from the birth of language. Murmured words, a new body, a project of exile, a dream in action right until the end.

The metamorphosis of a body’s raw material, like that of a verb questioning with pleasure and pain the link between two.

From his first until his last steps, all that man tries to do is remain standing. From the earth to the backbone, verticality as a principle but also a question.

If we try to become one with the word, then we become one with the world. Fury of the spirit and rage of the body. Recoupling words to the physical movements that gave birth to them is just the logical and discursive side of speech that has disappeared beneath its physical and emotional side, so that the words are perceived as movements.

From murmur to scream.

As if he’d never stopped being born.

THE SCARECROW

A poet of ancient times who still reigns from the corner of the field, it is difficult to describe the scarecrow: an impostor, a bogeyman, an ogre, a phantom, a protester, a crucifix, a no-through sign, a tower, an hourglass...

For me, a scarecrow is both a touching and contradictory figure, a lonely soldier of terror who has never scared anyone. He belongs to the imagination. This vertical being is man’s double, a self-portrait that does not speak its name, a no-through sign, and a protester who opens his arms to us when he is not hanged, crucified or bound.

This is a being of abandonment, in abandonment.

Giving life to a scarecrow is to become alive again, to revive, reconstruct, and to relearn. Trying to reach that place where the dual movement of vertical falling and elevation is produced, a contradiction vital to a living being.

The difficult birth of a body and a word that are linked and which begin over and over again, in perpetuity.

.

babil is part of the Scarecrow Cycle, after Fidèle à l'éclair and havran. The three figures reunite at last in the work Humus vertebra, the absurd encounter of the three.
A fourth solo, Benedetto Pacifico, joined the Cycle in September 2011.

Credits

Conception and choreography: Karine Ponties

Interpretation and text: Eric Domeneghetty

Composer: David Monceau

Light design: Julie Petit-Etienne

Costumes: Samuel Dronet

Technical direction: Guillaume Fromentin

Length: 20 minutes


Production

Production: Dame de Pic/Cie Karine Ponties

Coproduction: Théâtre Les Tanneurs – Brussels (Belgium), Centre des Bords de Marne – Le Perreux, CDC/ Biennale nationale du Val de Marne (France).

With the support of Ministère de la Communauté française Wallonie-Bruxelles – Service danse, Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre/Danse.

Dame de Pic / Cie Karine Ponties is supported by the Ministry of Culture of Federation Wallonie-Bruxelles, service danse and Wallonie-Bruxelles International. The Company is on administrative residence at Théâtre Les Tanneurs in Brussels.


© 2013 Dame de Pic / Cie Karine Ponties Design : Speculoos

babil

babil

Cycle des Epouvantails

Un corps s’élevant au-dessus de son propre chaos, on le dirait atteint aux jambes d’un mal compliqué. Une identité trouée, une pensée trouée, un langage troué qui s’exerce à la naissance de la langue. Les mots-souffles, un corps nouveau, un projet d’exil, un rêve en action, jusqu’au bout.

La métamorphose d’une matière brute du corps comme celle du verbe avec jouissance et angoisse qui interroge le lien entre les deux.

Des premiers aux derniers pas, l’homme ne fait après tout que tenter de rester debout. De la terre à l’épine dorsale, la verticalité comme principe mais aussi comme question.

Si on essaie de faire corps avec le mot alors on fait corps avec le monde. Fureur de l’esprit et fureur du corps. Rattacher les mots aux mouvements physiques qui leur ont donné naissance et que le côté logique et discursif de la parole disparaisse sous son côté physique et affectif, que les mots soient perçus comme des mouvements.

Du murmure au cri.

Comme s’il fallait ne pas s’arrêter de naître.

LA FIGURE DE L'EPOUVANTAIL

Poète de la nuit des temps qui trône toujours à l’angle des champs, l’épouvantail ne s’explique pas : un faux-semblant, un croquemitaine, un ogre, un sceptre, un protestataire, un crucifix, un sens interdit, une tour, un sablier...

Un épouvantail est pour moi une figure émouvante et contradictoire, un solitaire soldat de l’effroi qui n’a jamais effrayé personne. Il fait partie de l’imaginaire. Cet être vertical est comme le double de l’homme, un autoportrait qui ne dit pas son nom, un panneau sans interdit, un protestataire qui nous ouvre les bras quand il n’est pas pendu, ligoté ou crucifié.

C’est un être à l’abandon et dans l’abandon.

Donner vie à un épouvantail c’est redevenir vivant, faire renaître, recomposer, réapprendre. Essayer d’atteindre ce lieu où se produit le double mouvement vertical de chute et d’élévation. Contradiction vitale d’un être vivant.

Une difficile mise au monde d’un corps ou d’une parole tous deux liés, qui recommence toujours.

.

babil appartient au Cycle des Epouvantails et fait suite à Fidèle à l'éclair et havran. Les trois figures se trouvent réunies dans la pièce Humus vertebra : la rencontre absurde des trois.
Un quatrième solo, Benedetto Pacifico, se joint au Cycle en septembre 2011.

Crédits

Conception et chorégraphie : Karine Ponties

Interprète et texte : Eric Domeneghetty

Musique originale : David Monceau

Lumière : Julie Petit-Etienne

Costumes : Samuel Dronet

Direction technique : Guillaume Fromentin

Durée : 20 minutes


Production

Production: Dame de Pic/Cie Karine Ponties

Coproduction : Théâtre Les Tanneurs, Bruxelles, Centre des Bords de Marne, Le Perreux, CDC/ Biennale nationale du Val de Marne.

Avec l’aide du Ministère de la Communauté française Wallonie-Bruxelles – Service danse, de Wallonie-Bruxelles Théâtre/Danse.

Dame de Pic / Cie Karine Ponties est conventionnée par le Ministère de la Culture de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, service danse et reçoit le soutien de Wallonie-Bruxelles International. La Compagnie est en résidence administrative au Théâtre Les Tanneurs à Bruxelles.


© 2013 Dame de Pic / Cie Karine Ponties Design : Speculoos